Hunting is a way of life in the United States, and we are here to help you be as successful on the hunt as possible.
Georgia deer hunting is one of the most popular pastimes for hunters in Georgia. The season extends statewide from early September to mid January along with some extended seasons for archery and some firearms for the month of January. Before you start planning your hunting trip or vacation days from work, you will want to check the dates for the area you plan on hunting along with the local laws.
There are several different seasons that are taking place at this time. The first season will be archery of either sex meaning you can hunt bucks and does at the same time. This season last from early September to mid October, there are also a few counties that have extended archery season to all of January. Firearms season is the other more popular season to hunt deer. The northern zone of Georgia this season last from mid October to the beginning of January the southern zone offers the season from mid October to mid January. There are several other laws you will want to know before you start your hunting expedition.
The number of dear you are allowed to kill is only 12 per season and this is a statewide law. You are allowed no more than ten antlerless deer or does. Along with two antlered dear with one of them having at least four points one inch or longer on one side of the antlers. Some of the counties have other limitations or requirements you will want to check where you are planning to hunt to see if they have any of these unique laws in place.
If you are going to be hunting with an underage hunter, you will need to know the requirements for them as well as yourself. If the hunter is, under 16 they are not required to complete a hunter education course however, they must hunt with a licensed adult who is at least 18. The underage hunter must also stay within sight or hearing distance of the adult hunter. If the hunter is between 12 and 15, they may hunt unsupervised if they have completed a hunters education course they will also have other restrictions for them as well.
Hunters who are 16 to 25 must have a hunter education certificate when they purchase their hunting license. They will want to keep their certification and license with them while they hunt as well. Older hunters 25 and over they must meet hunter education requirements but do not need to keep the certification with them while they hunt or to get their license.
The cost of license varies depending on what you are hunting and if you are a resident or non-resident. For a big game license, the cost is $9 for residents and $135 for non-residents. There are also several other options you can choose as well. They offer one and three-day hunting license one day is $5.50 for residents and $12 for non-residents. The three day pass is only available for non-residents and cost $30. If you are a resident, you may choose to get a lifetime license, which includes both hunting and fishing, except the federal duck stamp. The costs of the license range are under 2 $200, 2-15 $350, 16 and over $500, 60-64 $95, and over 65 are free. If you are a non-resident, the cost is $1,000 and that is for any age.